After reading this page:
- you've learned what a template in the Tygron Platform is.
- you've learned which data is transferred to a new project.
- you've learned how to create a template project.
- you've learned how to share your project template within your domain.
- you've learned how to use a template project.
- 1 What is a template in the Tygron Platform
- 2 Which elements are transferred to a new project
- 3 How to create a template project
- 4 Sharing your template with other users in your domain
- 5 Applying a template project on a new project
What is a template in the Tygron Platform
A template is a project that can be used to create a new project with. This new project can have a different location than the original template project, but has the same Indicators and Actions for example, as the template project. This is very convenient in case a similar spatial issue is at hand on different locations and you want to create different projects for these locations. Also, this functionality enables the user to make elaborate predefined actions or custom indicators, which can then be easily applied with a template to another area. This functionality saves a lot of time and makes preparing projects faster.
Which elements are transferred to a new project
In a template project, elements that are not spatial, thus the elements that are not linked to a location will be transferred to a new project.
Examples of elements that are transferred to a new project
- Overlays settings, such as the grid size
- New functions/changes in function values
- Action menus
- New/changed Upgrade types
- WFS connections in the Geo Data Wizard
Examples of elements that are not transferred to a new project
- (Imported) Areas
- The areas have a certain location in the template project. The new project is very likely on a new location and therefore the areas are not present in that location and thus in the new project.
- Measures are drawn in a certain location, this location is also not present in the new project anymore.
- In a cinematic, the camera has a certain location in the 3D world, since the location is different in the new project, the cinematic will not be transferred.
Special elements that need to be adjusted accordingly after creating a new project based on a template
- Overlays are transferred to a new project (they will be recalculated for the new project) and the same settings as in the template project will be applied, such as the grid size. However, for example for the rainfall overlay, specific data that is imported and used for this overlay such as water level areas and weirs, is spatial data that is not transferred to the new project. These datasets should therefore be imported in the new project. Settings in the rainfall overlay wizard, such as the length and duration of the rainfall are transferred from the template.
- The content of the panels is transferred to a new project, but the locations of these panels must be set again.
How to create a template project
See below for the full list of steps for creating a template project. The steps are in short explained in this section.
To create a template project, start with a project that you want to use as a template for other projects.
In the template settings screen, the data sources that should be used by default when using this template, can be set. For example AHN3 can be selected so that the AHN3 is always used when creating a project based on the template.
The map needs to be cleared, so the project size will be small. This will ensure that the creation of a new project based on the template will be as fast as possible. The clear map option is a permanent setting and cannot be undone. Therefore it is recommended to make a copy of your project by saving the project under a different name.
Remove not generic elements
When the map is cleared, remove elements that are not generic for other projects. For example, stakeholder names. The stakeholder municipality is named after the municipality in where the project area is located. If the template project is created for The Hague, the stakeholder is called Municipality The Hague. If you apply the template on a project in Amsterdam, the stakeholder will use the previous name combined with the new name, which will result in Municipality The Hague Amsterdam. Therefore in the template project, remove the The Hague part, so the stakeholder in the template project will be named only Municipality and in the new project in Amsterdam Municipality Amsterdam.
Domain admin rights
Setting a project as a template can only be done by users with Domain Administrator rights. When a project has been made a project template, the read and write permissions will change. This is to ensure that nobody accidentally edits the project template. The permissions will be set to either none or read (project cannot be edited anymore) and only the creator can read the template by default. By default the template is not shared with other users within your domain. Please refer to the next paragraph about making templates available for the domain.
Below the list of steps for creating a template project.
How to create a template project:
- Start with a project you want to use as a template
- Save the project under a different name so you have created a copy of the project
- Go in the Editor menu to Tools > Template > Template settings
- Set the desired data sources for new projects based on this template
- Clear map. Warning: this will remove the 3D world from your project and can't be undone. Therefore you have made a copy of the project first in step 2.
- When the map is cleared, remove elements that are not generic
- Save the project and then close it
- Log in to the main menu (make sure you have domain admin rights)
- Go to Options and then select Projects
- Click on the Check box named "Template" to mark the project as a template
Sharing your template with other users in your domain
When a project has been made a template project, the read and write permissions will change. This is to ensure that nobody accidentally edits the project. No write permissions remain (project cannot be edited and then saved anymore, unless the creator changes this) and only the creator can read the template by default. In order to change the read permissions, so that other users within the same domain can also use the template, the creator can change the permissions of the original project in the editor.
How to share the template with other users in your domain:
- Load in the editor the template project to be shared with the domain
- Select "File" when in main view
- Select "Permissions"
- Change the entry for "Other users in domain" to "Read"
- Save project
Applying a template project on a new project
For creating a new project based on a template project, follow the steps for creating a new project, but choose instead of Empty project the template project in the project wizard (see image on the right in where the user can select the Tygron Net template by clicking on the Use Tygron Net template button).